Destiny 2 Guide: Classes and Subclasses (Warlock)

Hey there, Guardian. It's me, J09. Interested in the Warlock class? Ol' J09 can provide some insight.


Warlock Characteristics

This class can do it all. In addition to an arsenal which spans flaming swords and explosions, the Warlock can boost ally stats, regenerate health, and more.
This arcane warrior covers all the bases with ranged attacks capable of cleaning out pockets of foes, grenades which can split into multiple submunitions, plus a powerful Energy Drain melee technique.

Class Ability

The Warlock's class ability is Rift.
In the course of your service as a Guardian, there will be times in which you'll have to hold your ground and fight in a phone booth, as it were.
In such times, this class ability comes in handy... Rift. It summons a well of light, affecting not just you but any ally nearby.
Rift comes in two variations, which you're free to switch between. Use the version best suited to your style.

Works well offensively and defensively. Active use is encouraged. 

Healing Rift

Gradually regenerates the health of allies in contact with the light well.
When low on health, retreat is usually the wisest route, but that's not an option when you're defending a base.
In these situations, Healing Rift eliminates the need to turn tail, allowing you to stand your ground while recovering. Keep in mind, however, that this doesn't make you invincible. Taking damage which exceeds what can be recovered will naturally result in death.

Empowering Rift

Boosts the weapon damage of allies in contact with the light well.
A stat boost is welcome in all aspects of battle. The same goes for damage dealt by your weapons.
A simple technique, but hey. Might as well get 'em before they get you, right?



Each of these three subclasses corresponds to one of the three elements.
They are: Dawnblade, Stormcaller, and Voidwalker.
Much like class abilities, acquire these and you'll be free to switch between them at any time.
Go with your instincts when choosing which to use first. Don't worry—you'll eventually learn them all.
The Warlock skill trees, or "harmonies," have 3 distinct ability sets.
Use whichever suits you best strategically.

Well, that should bring you up to speed on the ins and outs of the Warlock class.
Like I said, all the subclasses will be at your disposal in time, letting you switch freely between whichever ones you like.
You'll come across different grenade and jump variants too. Decide which fits best by testing them in the field.
Nothing beats the hands-on approach.
For info on the other classes, check out the links below.

*Requires purchase of Forsaken.

*Screenshots shown are from the Japanese version. The game is playable in English.